The Project Re-Examining and Reflecting

This week, I am starting to do some deeper research into the two differences foods [sausage sizzle and Pavlova] and I get to look back on my older blog post ‘Project Proposal: The Foods’. It is outlining my digital artefact that is about Australian foods culture. There is one aspect that I picked up straight away from the reading; that is my lack of understanding on my selected foods. In the first blog, I clearly didn’t know anything much about sausage sizzle and Pavlova. I was thinking that the reason why they are Australian icon because they are tasty and they are in Australia but there are so much more than that.

1

I did some research into Pavlova; I found out that this Australian dessert has a long relationship between people in Australia and New Zealand. According to [BBC – Asia Pacific] the dessert [meringue, cream and fruit] was name after the Russian ballerina ‘Anna Pavlova’ who visited AUS and NZ in 1920s. There are many arguments and issues between Australia and New Zealand over who created the dessert. According to Oxford English Dictionary the dessert is invented in New Zealand, based on written evidence [the first recipe in 1927, NZ]. But a lot of people in Australia that I came across still believe that it’s Australian and many foods website e.g. Food52 said that the NZ’s Pavlova recipe is for a multi layered jelly [not like today Pavlova] and this not support that NZ is invented. Following my research, I found an article [GoodFood] that said that NZ and AUS isn’t the inventor. The article shows that PhD Andrew Paul Wood [the researcher] state that the modern Pavlova began in German and developing in the US. He claimed that the research team found around “150 Pavlova like meringue cakes serve with cream and fruit prior to 1926”, he also say that “the idea that it was invented in New Zealand or Australia is total fiction, as it is Antipodean origin”. However, from what I understanding this dessert still in a modern Australia’s food culture and remain strong history/relationship between AUS and NZ.

This Australia’s food culture and relationship with neighbour’s country are very interesting comparison to my experience with Thai’s culture [Southeast Asia]. There is a sweet food call ‘Cendol’, Thailand, Burma, and Vietnam each one said that they are the one invented the food. Why? Because each country has their own food profile, which will represent on their environmental, culture, values, and food can tell people’s personality for example Thai food: detail, colour, and taste [the power over the other]. In the same situation as AUS and NZ, I could understand why people in Australia fight or debate over the invention of the food. Thinking from what I understanding it is because Australian has a variety of foods that develop and influences from a multi cultural society. Which make Australian food profile show: values, history [new country], ingredients [rich environment], etc. all this combine will help reinforce the image of the Australia as a happiness place to be and to show that the power over NZ.

3

Following my research I look into the sausage sizzle, from what I think, it’s seem to be popular among Australian as I can see them every where from the school, store, public place, and more places [most of the popular public parks in Australia have BBQ facilities]. According to [Australian Tales] the BBQ [Barbecue] is a big tradition in Australian culture [outdoor][usually have BBQ with friends and family]. It is started back in the day as the Australian weather lends itself to ‘outside eating’. From what I understand, Australian BBQ can be really simple. For example the sausage sizzle, just meat cooked on a BBQ and put on top of the bread and tomato sauce, people will be happy with that and doesn’t care about it’s simplicity. Unlike people in my home country ‘Thailand’, they believe that a simple cooked food does not have much value in it. This is the reason why Thai foods have a lot of ingredients and take longer time to prepare/cook. Here are two examples:

file_000 file_003

Namphrik, Rum

Another aspect that I found it interesting is that the sausage sizzle usually use for fundraiser. According to [Fundraising Directory] it is good because it has low cost to set up and easy to run. The sausage sizzle usually raise around 1000$ to 3000$ per day depending on the walking traffic. [Sports Community] is pointing out step-by-step of doing this fundraising, not just cook and sell but it’s also need other thing e.g. public liability insurance, license [depend on area], and permit. I have to admit that the idea of using sausage sizzle for fundraiser is genius by using something that cultural related are more likely for people to give out money. Vary different to Thailand, the most popular fundraiser is a pen or flower that have no relationship or cultural attachment to people, which is not really effective.

Through my research I have found that there are many aspect behind the iconic Australian food that I selected. From my previous post it is clearly show that I am only know from the out side. For my final work I will be still doing the YouTube video showing what my view of selected foods from experiences. If I have any process I will be posting in my personal blog.

 

References:

Australian-information-stories.com. (2016). Australian BBQ – The Aussie Barbie. [online] Available at: http://www.australian-information-stories.com/australian-bbq.html [Accessed 16 Sep. 2016].

BBC News. (2016). Pavlova created in New Zealand not Australia, OED rules – BBC News. [online] Available at: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-pacific-11897482 [Accessed 16 Sep. 2016].

Eleven, B. (2015). Pavlova research reveals dessert’s shock origins. [online] Good Food. Available at: http://www.goodfood.com.au/eat-out/news/pavlova-research-reveals-desserts-shock-origins-20151010-gk5yv9 [Accessed 16 Sep. 2016].

Food52. (2016). The Dessert Australians and New Zealanders Are Squabbling Over. [online] Available at: https://food52.com/blog/16810-the-dessert-australians-and-new-zealanders-are-squabbling-over [Accessed 16 Sep. 2016].

Fundraising Directory. (2013). Bunnings Sausage Sizzle Fundraiser | Fundraising Directory. [online] Available at: http://www.fundraisingdirectory.com.au/bunnings-fundraising-sausage-sizzles/ [Accessed 17 Sep. 2016].

How to Fundraise. (2016). Sausage Sizzle Fundraiser. [online] Available at: http://howtofundraise.com.au/fundraiser/sausage-sizzle-2/ [Accessed 17 Sep. 2016].

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

